As a healthcare policy intern at American Action Forum for the spring 2013, I’ve started to write for their healthcare part of the Policy Interns blog. I will start re-blogging from their posts! It is my original work; I update it once a week! The opinions and views are of my own. Blog posts are my own thoughts and perspectives.

Policy Interns

By Ji Lee

On Monday January 21, 2013, President Barack Obama delivered his second inaugural speech at the United States Capitol building.

Having viewed the inauguration, there are a few components related to the future of healthcare that I would like to highlight.

President Obama mentioned that “Together we discovered that a free market only thrives when there are rules to ensure competition and fair play. Together we resolve that a great nation must care for the vulnerable and protect its people from life’s worst hazards and misfortune.”

Few disagree with the ideas of ‘competition and fair play,’ but it raises questions when he implies that without these “rules to ensure [them],” a free market approach will fail.  A free market health care system, with limited government intervention can more efficiently allocate resources and provide the American people with better and more cost efficient options. An example would be the…

View original post 468 more words

